The Ebola Czar would answer this question – how?

From the Ebola beginning we have been hearing from politicians aka incompetents, thieves, opportunists and liars. What I and many others (unfortunately not all) want is honesty and experience and insight. This ER doctor is just the man I wanted to hear from.

H/T BattlefieldUSA ER Doctor: What Scares Me Even More Than Ebola

I’ve been walking the earth for a half a century, so I’m sure I’ve picked up a bit along the way. I know the Gettysburg Address by heart. I can recite all the presidents. I can taste the difference between Diet Coke and Diet Pepsi, and I’m fairly certain I can tell you the starting lineup from the 1976 Cincinnati Reds. But if you ask me if I’m worried about Ebola, if our hospital is ready or if our nurses and staff are up to the challenge, chances are you will probably hear me say this:

“Hell if I know.”

I have been practicing emergency medicine for more than 20 years and I’ve seen close to 100,000 patients. I’ve written a few books, published some papers, lectured a bunch of times, pissed off about 10,000 soccer moms when I wrote an article telling them their kids weren’t playing the pros. I once even testified in front of a congressional sub-committee on hospital disaster preparedness. I’m still beating myself for at least not stealing a pen, but it was part of my duty as the physician director of mass casualty preparedness for our emergency department.

So you would think if anyone in the emergency department trenches would be versed as to how this Ebola scare will unfold, if it will spread, what to expect, how to diagnose, screen, protect and treat, then I suppose it would be me.

If an investigator for Joint Commissions or some other oversight agency, a member of the press or a committee trying to ensure CDC compliance were to pull me aside to spot check my Ebola acumen, they’d be satisfied with my answers and I’d leave them feeling like they had done due diligence as an administrator.

“Dr. Profeta, do we have enough protective stuff and does everyone know how to use it?”
“Yup.”
“Are the screening plans in place?”
“Yeah, ya betcha.”
“Is the staff versed in transmission and spread of Ebola?”
“Darn tooten.”
“Has everyone read all the CDC and hospital communiques regarding Ebola?”
“Sure have.”
“Have you practiced the drills in the ER in case we have someone show up with a possible exposure?”
“More times than Lois Lerner has hit her hard drive with a hammer.”

But if they were to ask me if there are any other issues they should be aware of, I’ll just stare with round blank eyes and keep my mouth shut until the right question is asked; the question they will pretend does not exist.

“Dr. Profeta, will they – the staff, you, your partners – show up?”

“That, I don’t know.”

There is much, much, more important reading here.

Imagine the attorney Ebola Czar Hussein Obama appointed being asked that question? You know there would come an immediate – OF COURSE they would!

From the New York Post – Bellevue staffers call-in ‘sick’ after Ebola arrives

An extraordinary number of Bellevue Hospital staffers called in sick on Friday rather than treat the city’s first Ebola patient — and those who showed up were terrified to enter his isolation chamber, sources told The Post.”

The nurses on the floor are miserable with a ‘why me?’ attitude, scared to death and overworked because all their co-workers called out sick,” one source said.

“One nurse even went as far as to pretend she was having a stroke to get out of working there, but once they cleared her in the ER they sent her back up,” the source added. More here.

“An extraordinary number” huh? Can you blame them?

This entry was posted in Ebola and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Ebola Czar would answer this question – how?

  1. bunkerville says:

    The CDC recommends a form of flu Vaccine for those over 65. In addition, there are two kinds of vaccine that covers two kinds, one three kinds. Try as I might, I have not been able to obtain the suggested one for my age. This asking included one of the top teaching and research hospitals in the Nation. Why does it matter? Because no one gives a damn. Believe nothing, our lives are expendable for a buck,

Leave a Reply

