“My first prayer to God. Real prayer.” PTSD

“God get me home to my girls.”

.
I have no idea how it is that I find something I want to post, such as the below, and later I find something related, such as the above, which are so interconnected. Earlier today I read that some “crazy” had tried to get into the White House. The reality is far different than the speculation.

By my calculations Mr. Gonzalez spent nearly fifteen years in the Army, those last years in Iraq. The Army sent him on a second tour despite his being diagnosed with PTSD after his first tour. May there be a Mike Day in Omar Gonzalez’s near future.

From Weaselzippers – Intruder Who Made It Into The White House Was Iraq War Vet Suffering PTSD, According To Family

The intruder who scaled a White House fence and made it through the front doors was an Army veteran diagnosed with combat trauma, but authorities said Saturday the case was still under investigation.A family member in California said Omar J. Gonzalez, 42, of Copperas Cove, Texas, near Ft. Hood, has been homeless and living alone in the wild and in campgrounds with his two pet dogs for the last two years.

“He’s been depressed for quite some time,” the relative said. “He’d been taking antidepressants and anti-anxiety medication. I suspect he stopped taking it, otherwise this wouldn’t have happened.”

Gonzalez joined the Army in the mid-1990s, the family member said. He was diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder after his first tour in Iraq. “But they sent him back for a second tour,” he said.

Please read his story here.

This entry was posted in Our Military and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “My first prayer to God. Real prayer.” PTSD

  1. bobmontgomery says:

    I am very glad they didn’t gun him down, but the first thing that popped into my mind was “Why didn’t they?” I instantly thought of Miriam Carey, who not only never made it into the WH grounds, if she ever intended to, but was also leaving the scene and was well away from the WH when she was executed.

    • LadyRavenSDC says:

      I don’t believe she even intended to and certainly if she intended to and intended mischief – she had her child with her! Kind of like Tamaroosi – wrong turn, except she was executed, he is simply rotting in jail. And now that I think of it, I do not remember the jihadist in chief making any kind of official statement about her……

Leave a Reply

